L’Oréal and UNESCO announce 2018 For Women in Science honorees


Cosmetics / News 60 Views 0

UNESCO and the L’Oréal Foundation are preparing to honor five female scientists with the 2018 L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Awards. The official ceremony is due to take place on March 22 at UNESCO’s Headquarters in Paris.

The five laureates will each receive a prize of €100,000 and include South African Professor Heather Zar, honored for her contribution in the field of medicine, paleontologist Professor Mee-Mann Chang from Beijing; UK-based Professor Dame Caroline Dean; Professor Amy T Austin from Argentina and Canadian Professor Janet Rossant.

The For Women in Science program has raised the profile of 102 laureates to date and supported more than 3,000 young female scientists. L’Oréal and UNESCO is building on this success with a campaign to raise public awareness of the initiative, launching an international communications campaign in seven international airports and on the streets of Paris in partnership with JC Decaux and Aeroports de Paris.